Final Forte 2021 finalists

‘Wisconsin Young Artists Compete: The Final Forte’ Available to Stream On-Demand Now

May 26, 2021 Alyssa Beno Leave a Comment

PBS Wisconsin, Wisconsin Public Radio (WPR) and the Madison Symphony Orchestra present the final round of the Bolz Young Artist Competition, featuring four of Wisconsin’s most talented high school musicians, in Wisconsin Young Artists Compete: The Final Forte.

The full program is available to stream online on-demand now at and on the free PBS App on Roku, other streaming devices and Smart TVs. The program’s broadcast premiere is 9 p.m. Sunday, June 6 on PBS Wisconsin, with encore television presentations on The Wisconsin Channel, or PBS Wisconsin-2, at 8 p.m. Friday, June 11 and 3 p.m. Saturday, June 12. The full audio program will broadcast on WPR’s NPR News & Music stations at 8 p.m. Wednesday, June 2 and 1 p.m. Sunday, June 13.

Recorded at the Overture Center for the Arts in Madison, March 3, 2021, the concert was hosted by John DeMain, music director of the Madison Symphony Orchestra (MSO), and Kathryn Schwarzmann, MSO’s director of education and community engagement.

The Bolz Young Artist Competition is a highly-regarded statewide competition in which Wisconsin’s young musicians compete for scholarships and the opportunity to perform as soloists in Overture Hall. The winner receives a $2,000 scholarship and other awards.

The finalists in the 2021 Final Forte are pictured above, from left to right:

  • Violinist Carrie Wang, a junior at Brookfield East High School
  • Pianist Sophia Jiang, a freshman at Madison Memorial High School
  • Violinist Qing Ng, a sophomore at Madison Memorial High School
  • Violinist Dexter Mott, a senior at Madison LaFollette High School

Wisconsin Young Artists Compete: The Final Forte is a partnership among MSO, WPR and PBS Wisconsin and is part of PBS Wisconsin’s multiyear Young Performers Initiative, a statewide effort to raise the visibility of the arts, celebrate the creative achievements of Wisconsin’s young people and support the arts in education.

Funding for Wisconsin Young Artists Compete: The Final Forte is provided by Diane Ballweg, W. Jerome Frautschi, Julie and Larry Midtbo, Fred and Mary Mohs, Stephen Morton, James Dahlberg and Elsebet Lund, Kato Perlman, A. Paul Jones Charitable Trust, Sentry Insurance Foundation, Nick and Judith Topitzes, Cyrena and Lee Pondrom, Dr. A Beyer-Mears, the Focus Fund for the Arts and Friends of PBS Wisconsin.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *