The Wisconsin State Senate is one half of the state government’s legislative branch. The Senate consists of 33 members elected from districts throughout the state. Senators serve four-year terms. District 8 is in southeast Wisconsin. Three Republican candidates are running in the primary election on Feb. 21, 2023, with the winner moving on to face the Democratic candidate in the spring election on April 4, 2023.