Release Date: Thu, Oct 13, 2016

Wisconsin High School Musical Performers Featured in The 2016 Tommy Awards

Oct. 13, 2016
For More Information:
Jonna Mayberry, WPT publicist, 608-263-3364, [email protected]
Megan Aley, YPI project manager, 608-263-1332, [email protected]
Deb Piper, WPT producer, 608-263-4222, [email protected]
Full program video:
View previews and event information, including clips and participant lists:
Wisconsin High School Musical Performers Featured in The 2016 Tommy Awards
Musical theater stars shine in Wisconsin Public Television's (WPT) broadcast of The 2016 Tommy Awards, featuring talented high school performers from across the state. The one-hour program premieres 8 p.m. Monday, Oct. 24 on WPT and 9 p.m. Friday, Nov. 18 on Milwaukee Public Television (MPTV-36.1); it is available now to stream online at
The 2016 Tommy Awards broadcast celebrates excellence in musical theater by featuring top performances from the annual award ceremony, held in June at Madison's Overture Center for the Arts. Award-winning performers include full-cast production numbers, as well as lead and supporting performers.
This year, the Overture Center reviewed a total of 77 high school musicals in 20 counties across Wisconsin.
"Each year, the Tommy Awards showcase the incredible musical talent coming out of Wisconsin's high schools," said WPT producer Deb Piper. "The students' hard work culminates in this wonderful night of song and dance at Overture Hall in Madison. WPT is proud to partner with Overture Center for the Arts to share this talent with our viewers across the state."
The Tommy Awards broadcast is part of WPT's multiyear Young Performers Initiative, which celebrates Wisconsin's young artists and those who inspire them.
The Overture Center's Tommy Awards program is an educational initiative that recognizes, honors and encourages excellence in musical theater production among area high school students. The awards are named in honor of local musical theater hero Tom Wopat, a critically acclaimed and Tony Award-nominated singer and actor from Lodi. 
Funding for The 2016 Tommy Awards is provided by Julie and Larry Midtbo, Mary Ellyn and Joe Sensenbrenner, the A. Paul Jones Charitable Trust and Friends of Wisconsin Public Television.
Wisconsin Public Television is a service of the Educational Communications Board and University of Wisconsin-Extension.
Wisconsin Public Television is a place to grow through learning on WHA-TV, Madison; WPNE-TV, Green Bay; WHRM-TV, Wausau; WLEF-TV, Park Falls; WHLA-TV, La Crosse; and WHWC-TV, Menomonie-Eau Claire.

FacebookRedditGoogle ClassroomEmail