Release Date: Wed, Oct 10, 2012

U.S. Senate Debate To Be Broadcast Statewide Oct. 18

For More Information: Christine Sloan-Miller, WPT executive producer, 608-263-7124 Rick Reyer, WPR Wausau Regional Manager, 715-261-6391 Erik Ernst, WPT promotion manager, 608-265-3853 The second U.S. Senate Debate between Democratic Rep. Tammy Baldwin and Republican former Gov. Tommy Thompson will be broadcast statewide at 7 p.m. Oct. 18. Live from the UW Center for Civic Engagement on the UW-Marathon County campus, Wisconsin Debate 2012: U.S. Senate General Election will be broadcast on Wisconsin Public Television (WPT), Wisconsin Public Radio (WPR) and Today's TMJ4, and carried online at and The debate is presented by the partnership of Wisconsin Public Television, Wisconsin Public Radio, the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, Today's TMJ4 and the Wisconsin Institute for Public Policy and Service. The debate marks the second time that the two Wisconsin candidates for U.S. Senate will face each other before the Nov. 6 election. WPT's Frederica Freyberg and Today's TMJ 4's Charles Benson will moderate the debate. Political analysts and reporters from the partner organizations will moderate a live online chat at during the debate for viewers to weigh in and share their thoughts on the candidates' performance. Earlier in the afternoon, WPT reporter Adam Schrager invites residents and debate attendees to attend a special Fact Check 101 Workshop at 3 p.m. in room 233 of the UW-Marathon County Main Academic Building. Fact Check 101 will provide live demonstrations on current political claims to get to the roots of their assertions. Attendees will learn which websites to visit, what code words to listen for and what information is publicly available so they can make an informed decision at election time. The workshop is free and open to the public. WPT is a service of the Educational Communications Board and University of Wisconsin-Extension. Wisconsin Public Television is a place to grow through learning on WHA-TV, Madison; WPNE-TV, Green Bay; WHRM-TV, Wausau; WLEF-TV, Park Falls; WHLA- TV, La Crosse; and WHWC-TV, Menomonie-Eau Claire.

FacebookRedditGoogle ClassroomEmail