Release Date: Thu, Mar 19, 2015

Bolz Young Artist Competition Final Round to be Broadcast Live on WPT and WPR

For More Information:Erik Ernst, WPT publicist, [email protected] Gerbig, WPT producer, [email protected] Bolz Young Artist Competition Final Round to be Broadcast Live on WPT and WPRMembers of the public may attend the free live performance in Madison. Four of Wisconsin's most talented young musicians will perform in concert with the Madison Symphony Orchestra (MSO) as Wisconsin Public Television (WPT) and Wisconsin Public Radio (WPR) offer a live broadcast of Wisconsin Young Artists Compete:  The Final Forte 7 p.m. Wednesday, March 25. WPT will air an encore presentation 11 a.m. Sunday, March 29. The Final Forte features harpist Maya Pierick, a student at Madison West High School, violinist Julian Rhee, a student at Brookfield East High School, pianist Vivian Wilhelms, a student at Waunakee High School and pianist Isabella Wu, a student at Madison Memorial High School in performance with Music Director John DeMain and the MSO as they vie for honors in the 2015 Bolz Young Artist Competition. Each finalist will perform a movement from a concerto while judges determine who will win scholarships. Members of the public are welcome to attend the free live performance in the Capitol Theater at the Overture Center in Madison; phone 608-257-3734 or visit online to reserve a seat.Audience members must be seated by 6:45 p.m. Wisconsin Young Artists Compete: The Final Forte is a partnership of Wisconsin Public Television, Wisconsin Public Radio and the Madison Symphony Orchestra. Wisconsin Young Artists Compete: The Final Forte is part of WPT's multiyear Young Performers Initiative, a statewide effort to raise the visibility of the arts, celebrate the creative achievements of Wisconsin's young people and support the arts in education. Major funding provided by Diane Ballweg, Fred and Mary Mohs, Stephen D. Morton, and The Boldt Company, with additional funds from Sentry Insurance Foundation, AHMC Properties, A. Paul Jones Charitable Trust, Margaret C. Winston, W. Jerome Frautschi, James Dahlberg and Elsebet Lund, Larry and Julie Midtbo, Kato L. Perlman, Anne W. Bolz, and Friends of Wisconsin Public Television. WPT is a service of the Educational Communications Board and the University of Wisconsin–Extension. Wisconsin Public Television is a place to grow through learning on WHA-TV, Madison; WPNE-TV, Green Bay; WHRM-TV, Wausau; WLEF-TV, Park Falls; WHLA-TV, La Crosse; andWHWC-TV, Menomonie-Eau Claire.-END-

FacebookRedditGoogle ClassroomEmail